casual friday.

pencil skirt

i don’t know about you, but i could totally dress from the j. crew catalog. years ago i decided that my go-to outfit for work would be a dress. you don’t have to worry about matching anything, and it’s easy to pull on in a pinch. this year i invested in a couple of pencil skirts and cardigans from j. crew, my so-called “uniform”.

we have a very lax dress code at work (read: none at all) and you’d be surprised at what some teachers wear. we are talking jeans and flip flops, EVERY DAY, and others who look, for lack of a better word, unkempt. i’ve done it myself after seeing others do it, after dealing with one of  THOSE mornings, so no judgment here (ok a little). i believe in casual fridays, but some get away with casual monday through friday, and it doesn’t help with garnering any respect for our profession.  okay, so i’m sure i’ve angered a few of you teachers out there, but what about you non-teachers? without being too critical, what do you think is acceptable dress for teachers?

do email or comment. i’d love to hear.

2 Comments

Filed under fashion, teaching

2 responses to “casual friday.

  1. Nicola

    Hi,
    Couldn’t agree with you more. I thinks casual Fridays are great,but the rest of the week, no flip flops or jeans. I’m a Canadian living in the UK, & as a North American, I had to up my game, dress wise when I moved here & now when I head home, I can’t get over how casual & dare I say it sloppy some professionals dress.
    It’s definitely all about comfort. That’s not to say the Brits are all fashion plates, but we could learn a thing or two from them, & don’t even get me started on the Italians! I think it does garner more respect, when you’re dressed smartly, if you’re dressed like a slob, maybe not so much. As for J.Crew, love, love, love their stuff & I love your blog, reading it makes me appreciate all the things I sometimes take for granted.

    So please keep blogging,

    Nicola

  2. Juan

    Okay, so I’m not a teacher but there is something to be said for dressing at work, even if given the opportunity NOT to. I am a monkey suit wearing type of guy (pinstripe, solid dark two-piece, white button-down, black shoes). I wear well cut suits and try to brighten them up with pretty ties. For one it’s easy, but most of all, it does not get in the way of my work. Everyone in my office has a casual attitude towards clothes–even my boss. But I work in an area of the Federal Government where the culture and the business that we do, I think, demands that we dress up a little. I know that if I go to a meeting no one will give my suit a second look, which would not be the case if I arrived in khakis and a casual shirt. Since arriving at my office, I have noticed ties around the necks of my coworkers more often. Like you I think there is a uniform. I would imagine that in your field the way you present yourself has an impact on the kind of respect you get from students, parents and other teachers. I say dress up, it can’t really hurt you. And besides, if we parents don’t dress up for work, we would always be wearing our spit-up stained shirts and the little greasy finger-wiped jeans that we wear the rest of the time. And that’s no fun!

Leave a Reply

